Ten Hours in Middle-Earth

So I’ve finally completed a long-held ambition and watched all three Lord of the Rings films in one sitting. Moreover, that one sitting was in an IMAX cinema. Not 3D, thank God, but still, big screen, big sound. I was more destabilised than I had expected by it being the theatrical edition and not the extended – having been watching the EEs for close to ten years now, it’s perhaps no surprise that I didn’t recognise the film I was shown last night. However, I found some of the ways they sidestepped scenes interesting. Definitely prefer the extended editions, but last night, to be honest, I was quite relieved that it was the slimlined version – any more Treebeard scenes would have killed me.

Oh, did I mention? It was an all-nighter – midnight to eleven in the morning, what with the clock-change. To my eternal shame, I didn’t stay awake. It’s difficult to tell, since I “missed” scenes that just weren’t there, but I think I stayed awake through all of Fellowship, only had a few micro-sleeps in Towers, and slept through basically all of Dunharrow and the parting of Sam and Frodo in Return. Which, on balance, I can cope with.

Something that I don’t think becomes really clear without the massive cinema sound system is how much the film relies on the “swelling orchestral music-drop music-crunchy battle noises” pattern – to fantastic effect. I was looking forward to the Ride of the Rohirrim more than anything and I was not disappointed.

The other thing I was half-looking forward to was hearing the soundtrack on loud speakers. Only half because so much of it can make me cry and I wasn’t keen on that. In the event, I was a tad disappointed – having gotten used to hearing it on its own, I had slightly forgotten how low it was in the mix sometimes. But I didn’t cry, so there’s that.

I also ingested about 1.375L of Blue Bolt (so like, all of the energy, and, for whatever reason, Vitamin B) and copious amounts of black coffee, which didn’t stop me falling asleep then but has kept me awake most of the day.

That’s cool, right? Spending a Saturday night in a cinema watching Lord of the Rings?

As if I cared.

Leave a Reply

